A Body Warrior to Meet: Robyn

March 3, 2008 at 7:22 pm Leave a comment

What I love about myself:  I love that I continue to create a multi-dimensional life that satisfies my mental, spiritual, emotional, and physical needs.  By day, I am a program officer at a local foundation, working to strengthen our community.  By night, I am a triathlete working to strengthen myself and find new limits in my training and racing.  Through my Tri to End Homelessness campaign, I combine both sides of my identity.

My biggest challenge in accepting my body and beauty: Maintaining perspective.  Life is so much bigger than my dress size!
My biggest support in learning to appreciate myself: My family, my coach, my collection of numbers from completed races!
Beauty is:  Sweating, spitting, grunting like a wild animal,(sometimes swearing!), digging deeper than I knew I could as I pump my arms and legs and lungs and spirit up the last hill in a race to cross the finish line, reborn.
Why I am strong:  I can run, bike, and swim all day long.
Why I am beautiful:  I can run, bike, and swim all day long for a purpose greater than myself.   I’m Tri-ing to End Homelessness by raising awareness and funds for Genesis Home  –  a shelter for homeless families with children in Durham, NC.  In 2008, I’ll be completing my first half-iron distance triathlon and raising $7,300 in recognition of the 70.3 miles I’ll be covering on race day.
What women must know:    As George Bernard Shaw said, “Life isn’t about finding yourself.  Life is about creating yourself.”  Change is ALWAYS possible.  You are the one you’ve been waiting for.
Entry filed under: Body Warriors. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

On the way to El Paso Looking for a book to read?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In a Bookstore Near You

What does it mean to be beautiful in America? For years, pop culture has insisted that beautiful women are tall, thin, and blonde. So what do you do if your mirror reflects olive skin, raven hair, and a short build? Hijas Americanas: Beauty, Body Image, and Growing Up Latina offers a provocative account of the struggles and triumphs of Latina forced to reconcile these conflicting realities. Rosie Molinary combines her own experience with the voices of hundreds of Latinas who grew up in the US navigating issues of gender, image, and sexuality. This empathetic ethnography exemplifies the ways in which our experiences are both profoundly individualistic and comfortingly universal.
Follow rosiemolinary on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 123,142 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

